Cork City

In this Section

Practical Guide


Cork City is second largest city in the Republic of Ireland and sits in the middle of County Cork – the largest county in Ireland. The city sits on the south coast and is bordered by the four counties of Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary & Waterford.

The city’s Gaelic name of Corcach Mór na Mumhan or the ‘Great marsh of Munster’ says a lot about its location with it actually being built originally on a group of fortified islands in the middle of River Lee. In the 19th century these were culverted over to form most of the streets we see today. In fact most people don’t realise the original river channels still run beneath them.


The Cork region is renowned for the quality of its land, clean rivers and an abundant sea all of which have contributed directly to the burgeoning international reputation of the region as a food destination.